· 

Golfing with a Novice

Playing a round of golf with a beginner

Beginners Golf: May as well be on another planet

Last week my brother was in town with his family (wife and two boys) for a bit of a family vacation. They drove across the entire country to visit my family, which was really nice on their part. I'm sure the drive was arduous at times, but my brother said that they took enough stops to let the kids out and run around so nothing too major happened.

 

A few days after my brother's family arrived at my doorstep, it was finally the weekend. The sun was shining, the weather was mild, and it was a perfect day to go play 18 holes of golf. My brother and I have played together since we were quite young, but for some reason unbeknownst to me he had never taken his family golfing. This really boggled my mind because we had both loved playing golf together for so long. I took this opportunity as a sign from the almighty golf gods to make his family believers.

 

So, I packed his family into the car and we hit the course. We went to a public golf 9 hole course because 18 holes can be a lot to learn on. Once we got there, madness ensued. The kids were going crazy looking at the golf carts and open space. This caused my brother and me to split into two teams, each of us taking one of his children. We decided to do this because we figured that they would distract each other if they were together- similar to training puppies.

 

kids learning to golf

Once I explained the rules, basics of body positioning and club grip to my brothers cub, we were off! When teeing off at the first hole, his first swing was wobbly and uncoordinated. I kept giving his some awesome golf swing tips, however not too many- nothing is more annoying than someone criticizing every move you make. His first hit was remarkably straight, which definitely boosted his confidence. His second hit, not so much.

 

By the third hole, he had an even mix of hitting well and hitting poorly. I noticed that when he hit poorly he was moving his feet on the upswing. Also, his grip was inconsistent. His inconsistency reminded me of when I was first learning and to play. I thought it was pretty funny because he seemed to be in a completely different world than me in regards to golf. Putting his age aside, the difference between a novice and experienced player is completely different. What his mind was thinking and focusing on was completely different to mine. I think that's an awesome thing to appreciate.

 

After 9 holes he started to get the hang of everything, and was hitting about 65% of the shots straight, which I found to be quite good for a beginner. What can I say, golf must run in the blood!

 

 

Playing golf with my brothers kid was a great day on the course for me- and I know without a doubt that he enjoyed himself and will continue to play golf for the rest of his life.

 

Learn more about golfing and stepping up your golf game at https://learn-golf-from-george-gankas.jimdofree.com/

Write a comment

Comments: 0